free templates joomla

Singapore Junior Chemistry Olympiad

The Singapore Junior Chemistry Olympiad (SJChO) is a competition organised by the Singapore National Institute of Chemistry (SNIC) in partnership with NUS, NTU, SUTD and Nanyang Polytechnic and supported by the Ministry of Education (MOE).

SJChO provides a platform for all upper secondary (or equivalent levels) students to challenge themselves in their chemical knowledge and skills. It also seeks to promote the excitement in learning and doing Chemistry as well as to identify and develop chemistry talents.  SJChO has the following objectives:

  • To develop a holistic culture and passion in chemistry teaching & learning
  • To advance chemistry as a subject and lifelong interest
  • To identify, reward and nurture talents in chemistry and related disciplines
  • To promote public awareness of chemistry, its applications & impact in our life
  • To encourage collaboration, interaction & friendship through chemistry

The history of this competition began in 2010 with the strong support from Raffles Institution, NUS High School and the Ministry of Education.  The support for the first SJChO was overwhelming with about 2000 students from over 30 schools.  Today, the competition attracts much more than 2000 students from over 80 secondary schools in Singapore. The competition is opened to all schools in Singapore which is inclusive of independent and international schools.  Since the conception of SJChO, many other schools such as Victoria Junior College, River Valley High School, Hwa Chong Institution, Anglo Chinese Junior College, Temasek Junior College, Tanjong Katong Secondary School, Raffles Girls School, Coral Secondary School, National Junior College, Anglican High School, Catholic High School and Zhong Hua Secondary have helped in the hosting of the SJChO.  The main people behind the scenes are volunteers from the chemistry community, mainly lecturers, researchers and school teachers who generously volunteer their time for the benefit of all participants.  

The chemistry community represented by SNIC is proud to be the organiser of the largest Junior Science Olympiad in Singapore today.

Scientific Committee 2021

Dr. Alessandra Bonanni, NTU (Chair)

Dr. Lu Yunpeng, NTU (Vice Chair)

Dr. Michael Yudistira, NUS (Vice Chair)

Asst. Prof. Liu Xiaogang, SUTD (Vice Chair)

Dr. Phoon Chee Wee, NYP (Vice Chair)

Assoc. Prof. Richard Webster, NTU

Dr. Tan Yaw Sing, A*Star

Instructor Saradha Thyagarajan, NUS