free templates joomla

Our Presidents

Tan Choon Hong-
Professor Tan Choon Hong
2017 - Present

Professor TAN received his PhD from the University of Cambridge in 1999. Following that, he carriuding ETH Zurich, University of Oxford, University of Tokyo, the University of Wisconsin at Madison and University of Cambridge. He has gained international recognition by winning the Asian Coed out two years postdoctoral training at the Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology, Harvard University. Subsequently, he worked as a Research Associate at Department of Biological Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology, Harvard Medical School for another year before joined the Department of Chemistry, the National University of Singapore as Assistant Professor in 2003. He was promoted to Associate Professor in 2010 and Professor in 2016. He has been invited to delivered lectures in many academic institutions inclre Lectureship Awards from four countries: Hong Kong (2009), Japan (2009), China (2010) and Korea (2010). He has also won the UK Singapore Partners-In-Science Collaboration Development Awards in 2008 from the British High Commission in Singapore. He also won the Young Chemist Award (2009) and the Young Scientist Award (2009). He also won the prestigious GSK-SNIC Organic Chemistry Award (2011).

Professor Hor Tzi Sum Andy
2004 – 2017

Professor HOR Tzi Sum Andy is the Vice President and Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research) and Chair Professor of Metallic Chemistry Materials at the University of Hong Kong (HKU) and Board Member of Versitech Ltd. He is also a Concurrent Professor of Fudan University in China, Senior Fellow of A*STAR and Research Visiting Professor of NUS. He was a graduate of Imperial College (B.Sc. (Hon)) and University of Oxford (DPhil/ PhD), with D.Sc. conferred by the University of London. He did his postdoctoral research at Yale University, and established his academic career at the National University of Singapore (NUS), and spent five career-transformational years as the Executive Director of the Institute of Materials Research Engineering (IMRE) of A*STAR of Singapore. In research, he specialises in organometallic materials and heterometallic catalysis and has published 420 international papers with ~1015 citations in 2016, filed patents in areas like nanostructures and battery materials, and delivered numerous plenary, keynote and invited lectures in international meetings.

Professor Lee Soo Ying
2000 – 2004

Professor LEE Soo Ying was graduated from University of Malaya (B.Sc. (Hon)) and University of Chicago (PhD), followed by post-doctoral work at the University of California, Los Angeles.He is a founding of Dean of the School of Physical Mathematical Sciences at NTU since October 2004. Prior to that, he had been Head of Chemistry, Dean of Science, Director of Institutional Resources, Director of Research, and Vice Provost at the National University of Singapore. He is also a Chemical Physicist and is a concurrent professor of Chemistry in NTU. He has spent two years on sabbatical at the University of California, Berkeley. His research interest is currently in ultrafast nonlinear spectroscopy to understand molecular dynamics. He has published more than 80 refereed international journal articles.

Dr Ng Tju Lik
2000 – 2004

Dr NG Tju Lik is a Senior Scientific Adviser, Health Sciences Authority in Singapore. He was graduated from the then University of Singapore and the University of Dundee in Scotland (PhD) and has since made contributions in the public health and Forensic Science. Formerly, he was the Assistant Director (Science) at the Ministry of Science and Technology, Head of the Pharmaceutical Science Section of the Department of Scientific Services (DSS) and later became the Director of DSS. In this capacity, he set in motion new programmes to strengthen the forensic capabilities of the department, including the new DNA fingerprinting laboratory to improve criminal investigations. He also led the development of a laboratory-wide quality management system which culminated in the accreditation of the forensic, as well as the food and drug laboratories. Dr NG was also closely involved in the development of pharmaceutical and medical devices regulation in the Ministry of Health. He set up the Ministry’s Product Regulation Department, and also the Centre for Drug Evaluation. He has published 47 scientific papers on analytical chemistry, drugs, toxicology, health science, radiation science, and forensic science.

Professor Sim Keng Yeow
1975 – 1978, 1992 – 1996

Professor SIM Keng Yeow obtained his BSc (Hons) degree and MSc degree from University of Malaya, followed by his PhD from University of London. He was an Associate Professor of Chemistry in NUS and was appointed as Acting Head. During his immense contribution as head, the Department achieved a status as a top and highly respected research entity not only in comparison with departments of chemistry in Asian universities but also in the world. His research interest has focused mainly on structural and synthetic aspects of natural products and has contributed 2 US Patents and over 150 publications/conference papers, 108 of which are published in international refereed journals. He was elected to the Fellowship of the Royal Institute of Chemistry (RIC), served as the Vice-President of the Singapore National Academy of Science, was a FACS Treasurer and Secretary General and was conferred the FACS Citation Award for his contributions to the development of chemistry in Asia.

Emeritus Professor Huang Hsing Hua
1973 – 1974, 1976 – 1992

Emeritus Professor HUANG Hsing Hua is renowned for his research in the field of physical organic chemistry and spectroscopy, and his career is as distinguished as the awards he has won: the Queen's Scholarship, the University Council Fellowship tenable at the University of Cambridge, the Gold Medal for Public Administration, the NSTB Science Award among them. He has published over 140 papers in refereed international journals and he has supervised some 9 PhD students and 21 MSc students, among them another fellow recipient of this award, Dr YEO Ning Hong. He was a graduate of University of Malaya (B.Sc. (Hon)) and University of Oxford (DPhil/ PhD). Professor HUANG started scholarships for 'O' and 'A' level pupils to encourage and reward achievements in the subject. He also played an active role in the affairs of the Federation of Asian Chemical Societies (FACS), in which he served as President from 1985 to 1987. As Deputy Vice-Chancellor at the National University of Singapore from 1981 to 1994, he worked with Professor LIM Pin to oversee a sharp rise in student enrollment, in research activity and funding, as well as an increase in the number of staff. He was a driving force in the promotion of multidisciplinary research and the setting up of such centres.