free templates joomla

National Technical Committees

Technical Committee on Chemicals and Processes 



Dr Ken Lee

Dr Ken Lee has more than 15 years of R&D Project Management experience of which majority of his efforts are centred on sustainable technologies and diagnostics research and development. Dr Ken obtained his B.Sc (Hons) and Ph.D. degrees in Chemistry from the National University of Singapore and later spent 3 years working in a drug discovery and development company before his current appointment as a Centre Manager in Singapore Polytechnic's Centre for Biomedical and Life Sciences, and concurrently as a Senior Manager in Food Innovation and Resource Centre. His research focuses on broad areas of Organic Chemistry, Chemical Biology and Diagnostic Technology in both Environmental and Biomedical industries. As a Principal Investigator from the Centre of Biomedical and Life Sciences, Dr Ken leads a team of post-doctoral researchers and engineers, Polytechnic lecturers and full-time diploma students. As a Senior Manager from the Food Innovation and Resource Centre, he leads 2 full-time Principal Investigators and 7 researchers. He has published several papers in refereed journals and has 7 patent applications. Currently, the focus of his research is on the practical applications of near-infrared (NIR) dyes, Continuous Flow Chemistry and Point-of-Care Diagnostic Technology development. His teaching experience from NUS and SP focuses on Organic Chemistry, Analytical Chemistry and Chemical Biology. In his short academic career in Singapore Polytechnic, he has been awarded a total of >S$4.5mil from internal and external grants (supported by NRF, MOE, GSK, EDB and PUB) as a Principal Investigator; including his role as Co-Principal Investigator, his total funds have gathered >S$6.0mil. he enjoys strong networking with the biomedical, pharmaceutical, and research industries, and more importantly, he has strong links with the relevant government industries through collaborations and grant proposals writing. He also works very closely with new start-ups by providing consultancy services and he is also a Technical Assessor with Singapore Accreditation Council (SAC-Singlas) where he has obtained a Gold award in 2014.


Technical Committee on Surface Coatings


Dr Dien Pandiman

Dr Dien Pandiman is the Executive Director of Pidilite Innovation Centre Pte. Ltd. and is responsible for applied research and product innovations of surface coatings and construction chemicals for Pidilite Group of Companies. He has more than 10 years experience in these fields and his research interests are in the future and emerging applications of nanomaterials in surface coatings and construction chemicals. He had developed many innovative products and successfully commercialised in the global markets. A Chartered Chemist, Chartered Scientist, and Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC UK), he is the Chairman of the RSC Singapore Section. He is a Member of SPRING Singapore's Technical Committee for Surface Coatings, and is also a Technical Assessor, under the Singapore Accreditation Council-Singapore Laboratory Accreditation Scheme (SAC-SINGLAS) for technical audits at various independent laboratories in Singapore.