free templates joomla

Steering Committee

The steering committee was form to set up an evaluation system to consider all nominations for the SNIC-Industry Awards fairly.  The steering committee is also responsible in the formation of evaluation panels for each award to evaluate all nominations recieved. The panel, led by a chair was tasked to conduct the evaluation independent of SNIC council as well as the president, in confidence.  Recommendations from the panels were then forwarded to the Council for endorsement before the awards were confirmed.  Members of the steering committee are:

steering hardy chanProf Hardy Sze On Chan is the Co-Director of Singapore-MIT Alliance, a graduate education and research collaboration in science and engineering between the world renowned Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and two of the finest universities in the Asia Pacific region: the National University of Singapore (NUS) and the Nanyang Technology University (NTU).

He is also a professor in the Chemistry Department of the NUS, a member of A*STAR Tech Scan Committee on Frontiers of Chemicals and Materials (2004); coordinator for A*STAR Thematic Strategic Research Programme (TSRP) in Polymer and Molecular Electronics and Devices (2003-2006); chairman of the technical Committee on Rubber Products and other Polymers (1999-2001); and technical assessor for SAC-SINGLAS (2001-present).

He is currently a Fellow of the Institute of Materials (UK); Fellow of the Singapore National Institute of Chemistry; Fellow of the Plastics and Rubber Institute (Singapore); and Chartered Member of the Royal Society of Chemistry, UK. He received the Standard Council Distinguished Award (2002) for contributions to the national standardization programme.


steering peter chanDr. Peter Chan is the Managing Director of the PCTS Specialty Chemicals Pte Ltd that supplies raw materials to the coating industry in the region. He is also an adjunct associate professor in the Chemistry Department of the NUS, a member of the Singapore Standard Council and the Chairman of the Singapore Chemical Standard Committee of the Spring Singapore.

He has a B.Sc. in pharmacy from the Northeastern University, a Ph.D. in toxicology and pharmacology from the University of Mississippi Medical School, and a diploma in Executive Management from the Wharton Business School. He is a Diplomate of the American Board of Toxicology (D.A.B.T.), and has published > 20 papers in scientific journals and authored 4 chapters in toxicology textbooks.


steering christina chaiDr Christina Chai obtained her BSc (Hons) from the University of Canterbury, Christchurch, New Zealand and her PhD in synthetic organic chemistry from the Research School of Chemistry, Australian National University, Canberra, Australia.

This was followed by a research stint at the Dyson Perrins Laboratory, University of Oxford as a Samuel and Glasstone research fellow. Her first academic position was as a lecturer at the Department of Chemistry, Victoria University of Wellington in 1991-1993, followed by a second academic position at the Australian National University (1994-2004) where she was an associate professor.

She joined the Institute of Chemical and Engineering Sciences as a Principal Scientist and Programme Manager of the New Synthesis Techniques and Applications (NSTA) Programme in Dec 2004. Since May 2008, Dr Chai also holds a co-appointment as the Director of Graduate Affairs at the Science and Engineering Council (SERC), A*STAR. Dr Chai also has an honorary adjunct appointment at Nanyang Technological University, Singapore.

Dr Chai's professional achievements include the DAAD Fellowship and Alexander von Humboldt Fellowship and is a member of the American Chemical Society, the Royal Australian Chemical Institute and the Singapore Institute of Chemistry. She is a member of several committees including the A*STAR Talent Search Committee, Jury Panel for the L’Oreal Women in Science Fellowships.


steering loh wah singDr Loh Wah Sing is the Senior Advisor Singapore of Fraunhofer Gesellschaft. He received his BE (Chemical) from University of Tokyo, MSc (Industrial Engineering) and PhD from National University of Singapore. He was the Deputy Executive Director (Industry) of the Institute of Chemical and Engineering Sciences, Director (Business Development) of Institute of High Performance Computing; Divisional Director (Technology Development) of the former Singapore Productivity and Standards Board; member of Board of Governors of Temasek Polytechnic; founding director of PCTS Pte Ltd and the Singapore/EC sponsored Regional Institute of Environmental Technology.

He was conferred an Innovators Award 1994 by the Institution of Engineers Singapore for his R&D on developing an algae resistant paint for building facades in the humid tropics. Currently he is also a member of Advisory Committee for the Centre of Innovation on Environmental & Water Technology at Ngee Ann Polytechnic. Recently he was re-appointed a member of Singapore Chemical Standards Committee responsible for standardization pertaining to photocatalytic coating.

He is an honorary member and fellow of Oil & Colour Chemists’ Association and a member of Editorial Review Board of Journal of Coatings Technology and Research.


steering koichi narasakaProfessor Koichi Narasaka is a Professor with the Division of Chemistry and Biological Chemistry at Nanyang Technological University (NTU). He received his B.Sc and Ph.D degrees from Tokyo Institute of Technology.

In April 2007, he moved to NTU from the University of Tokyo, after his career of Assistant, Associate and Full Professor of The University of Tokyo. He has been engaged in several editorial works of international scientific journals, such as Organic Syntheses (Editor), Phy. Org. Chem. (Editor), Bull. Chem. Soc. Jpn. (Senior Editor, Advisory Board), Chem. Lett. (Editor-in-Chief), Organic Lett. (Advisory Board) and Tetrahedron & Tetrahedron Letters (Advisory Board).